Navigation

Service-Menü

Hauptmenü



Bereichsmenü


Koios++

Semantic Search Engine Koios++

The semantic search engine Koios++ is used to search for facts in an RDF triplestore.

Project Description

Illustration

In contrast to the purely syntactical comparison of character strings, the semantic search is based on the contentual meaning of a query. This is relevant for solving the problems posed by synonyms (intelligent, smart) and homonyms (row: propel with oars, linear arrangement of seating). The semantic search is concept-based, as the machine uses knowledge and associations to provide the answer, very much like human thought. The structure of the (domain-specific) knowledge to be used by this type of search engine is created using thesauri, semantic networks and ontologies. Formally, data formats, which were developed in association with the Semantic Web, provide a machine-readable representation of knowledge: OWL (Web Ontology Language) and RDFS (Resource Description Framework Schema) serve the description of ontologies. RDFS can be used to construct large knowledge networks, which are similar to semantic networks. Every statement in an RDF(S) contains three elements, which are denoted as the subject, predicate and object. In this order, the elements are condensed into a triplet (3-tuple), which can then be used to represent natural language sentences simply. In a bibliographic context, an example of such a triplet could be: "Person P is the author von work W". The assignment of meaning takes place by means of linking the statements to ontological concepts. Knowledge (a large number of triplets) is stored in so-called triplestores. Queries of this knowledge base usually take place using the language SPARQL (SPARQL Protocol And RDF Query Language).

Knowledge networks for psychology

As an important foundation for the realization of the semantic search, the construction of a knowledge network for the field of psychology was tackled by the DFKI and ZPID in a joint project with four work packages.

  • (1) Development of ontologies: Analysis of classification schemes and bibliographic data from PSYNDEX, PsychAuthors and ERIC. Conversion into SKOS (Simple Knowledge Organization System) or BIBO (Bibliographic Ontology). Storage in a subversion repository.
  • (2) Implementation of a ZPID-SPARQL server: Based on the Virtuoso Open Source-Edition, a server infrastructure was realized, which can be used to store and query developed ontologies and corresponding instance data.
  • (3) Data import: Import functionalities were developed, which allow the automatic transfer of the data archives in PsychAuthors and PSYNDEX into the semantic infrastructure.
  • (4) For the completion of the knowledge network, word N-grams were specified, which correspond to the terms in the APA thesaurus, determine further word forms and add alternative terms. This query interpretation process compensates for the, from a professional and conceptual standpoint, incomplete vocabulary of the users.

The semantic search engine KOIOS++

The semantic search engine KOIOS++ realizes a key word based search of RDF(S) data. With the help of the data, key words are depicted in SPARQL-Queries, which are then used for the actual factual search. The advantage of this approach is that the users do not require any explicit knowledge of the scheme or SPARQL language. RDF data stored in the knowledge network were made searchable with the help of the search engine Koios++. In this case, Koios++ makes a key word based search for psychology literature possible. The key words are depicted on isolated elements of the RDF-data and subsequently a link between these elements is searched for. The results of the process described are displayed using a semantic network, which simultaneously illustrates the results of the search. Normally, Koios++ calculates several results for one query, as the analyses of the entered key words allows for several possible interpretations.

During information search, a fundamental problem is that the user cannot sufficiently link the results of a corresponding system to his own entry. This is especially likely when the user cannot formulate his search problem adequately (e.g. when using key words). For these reasons, Koios++ attempts to enhance search results by using explanations in the form of semantic networks and, in doing so, to enter into a kind of dialogue with the user, to solve his search problem and assist in the acquisition of new knowledge.

Koios++ attempts to adapt explanations of search results to each user by adding or masking information. In doing so, statistical and logical methods are employed, which, in particular, take the knowledge of the user in the relevant field into consideration. For this purpose, a formula for the evaluation of the comprehensibility of semantic networks was developed. In this formula, main considerations are the degree of familiarity of terms (knots in the network) and the transparency of term linkage (lines in the network). The later was investigated in an experiment last year: a publication of the results is in preparation.

Search for psychology literature

Koios++’s generic approach can also be used to search for literature in the field of psychology. In this case, the SPARQL queries receive exactly 1 variable, the instantiation of which can be assigned to a specific class of document (article, conference contribution etc.) The instances or concrete documents are annoted with concepts from the APA thesaurus that are normally kept as specific as possible. Assuming a user is looking for a document associated with the terms "depression" and "psychoanalysis", Koios++ would, in this case, also suggest a document that is annoted with the concepts "bipolar disorder" and "psychoanalysis", even if the word "depression" does not appear in the text. This suggestion is only possible because Koios++ uses its background knowledge to infer that the concept "bipolar disorder" is closely related to "depression". Principally, using this method increases the number if hits, which is not inherently advantageous. For this reason, a document search with Koios++ mainly provides useful results, when the query includes several concepts.

Further semantics search engines

A semantic search engine in the field of medicine is GoPubMed, while Wolfram Alpha is successful as a calculating knowledge engine.

Publications

2015

  • Forcher, B. (2015). Generierung verständlicher Erklärungen für Semantic Web Applikationen. Dissertation, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern. München: Verlag Dr. Hut.

2014

  • Forcher, B., Roth-Berghofer, T., Agne, S., & Dengel, A. (2014). Justifications of Medical Semantic Search Results. Intuitive Engineering Applications of Artificial Intelligence, 30, 1-17.
    doi:10.1016/j.engappai.2014.01.013

Talks/Posters

2014

  • Forcher, B., Giloj, A., & Weichselgartner, E. (2014, October).
    Keyword-Based Semantic Search Engine Koios++. 13th International Semantic Web Conference, Riva del Garda - Trentino, Italy.

URLs of links on this page



weiterführende Informationen

Additional Information

PD Dr. Erich Weichselgartner
Phone: +49 (0)651 201-2056
Leibniz Institute for Psychology Information
Universitätsring 15,
54296 Trier, Germany

Interested in a demo? Please contact PD Dr. Erich Weichselgartner

Follow Us on Twitter

Kontakt und Funktionen

URL of this page: https://www.zpid.de/index.php?wahl=forschung&uwahl=informationstechnologie&uuwahl=Koios&lang=EN

Navigation

Service-Menü

Hauptmenü



Bereichsmenü


Koios++

Semantische Suchmaschine

Die semantische Suchmaschine Koios++ dient der bedeutungsnahen Suche von Informationen.

Beschreibung

Illustration

Im Unterschied zum rein syntaktischen Vergleich von Zeichenketten fußt die semantische Suche auf der inhaltlichen Bedeutung einer Suchanfrage. Dies ist relevant bei der Lösung des Problems der Synonyme (Bulimie, Ess-Brechsucht) oder der Homonyme (Adler: Bekannter Psychologe, Greifvogel). Die semantische Suche ist konzeptbasiert, indem von der Maschine Wissen und Assoziationen für die Antwort herangezogen werden, ganz analog zum menschlichen Denken. Der Aufbau des heranzuziehenden (domänenspezifischen) Wissens erfolgt mittels Thesauri, semantischen Netzen und Ontologien. Formal dienen zur maschinenlesbaren Repräsentation des Wissens Datenformate, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Semantic Web entwickelt wurden: OWL (Web Ontology Language) und RDFS (Resource Description Framework Schema) dienen zur Beschreibung von Ontologien. Im Falle von RDFS können große Wissensnetze konstruiert werden, die Ähnlichkeiten zu semantischen Netzen aufweisen. Alle Aussagen in RDF(S) bestehen aus drei Elementen, die als Subjekt, Prädikat und Objekt bezeichnet werden. Die Elemente werden in dieser Reihenfolge zu einem Tripel (3-Tupel) zusammengefasst, mit dessen Hilfe einfache natürlichsprachliche Sätze repräsentiert werden können. Ein Beispiel für ein solches Tripel im bibliographischen Kontext lautet: "Person P ist Autor von Werk W". Die Zuweisung der Bedeutung erfolgt durch die Verbindung der Aussagen mit Ontologiekonzepten. Das Wissen (eine große Menge von Tripeln) wird in sogenannten Triplestores vorgehalten. Die Abfrage dieser Wissensbasis geschieht üblicherweise mit der Sprache SPARQL (SPARQL Protocol And RDF Query Language).

Wissensnetz für die Psychologie

Der Aufbau eines Wissensnetzes für die Psychologie als wichtige Grundlage zur Realisierung der semantischen Suche wurde in einem Projekt von DFKI und ZPID mit vier Arbeitspaketen in Angriff genommen.

  • (1) Entwicklung von Ontologien: Analyse des Klassifikationsschemas und der bibliographischen Daten von PSYNDEX, PsychAuthors und ERIC. Umwandlung in SKOS (Simple Knowledge Organization System) bzw. BIBO (Bibliographic Ontology). Ablage in einem Subversion-Repositorium.
  • (2) Implementierung eines ZPID-SPARQL-Servers: Auf der Basis der Virtuoso Open Source-Edition wurde eine Server-Infrastruktur realisiert, mit der die entwickelten Ontologien und entsprechende Instanzdaten gespeichert und abgefragt werden können.
  • (3) Datenimport: Es wurden Importfunktionalitäten entwickelt, mit denen der Datenbestand aus PsychAuthors und PSYNDEX automatisch in die semantische Infrastruktur übernommen werden kann.
  • (4) Zur Komplettierung des Wissensnetzes wurden Wort-N-Gramme bestimmt, die mit den Termen des APA-Thesaurus korrespondieren, weitere Wortformen ermittelt und alternative Begriffe hinzugefügt. Das aus fachlich-konzeptioneller Sicht unvollkommene Vokabular der Nutzer kann so durch den Interpretationsprozess der Suchanfrage kompensiert werden.

Semantische Suchmaschine KOIOS++

Die semantische Suchmaschine Koios++ realisiert eine stichwortbasierte Suche auf RDF(S) Daten. Die Stichworte werden mit Hilfe der Daten auf SPARQL-Queries abgebildet, die wiederum zur eigentlichen Faktensuche verwendet werden. Der Vorteil dieses Ansatzes besteht darin, dass die Anwender kein explizites Wissen über das Schema bzw. die Sprache SPARQL benötigen. Die im Wissensnetz abgelegten RDF-Daten wurden mit Hilfe der Suchmaschine Koios++ durchsuchbar gemacht. In diesem Fall ermöglicht Koios++ eine stichwortbasierte Recherche nach Psychologieliteratur. Die Stichworte werden auf isolierte Elemente der RDF-Daten abgebildet und im Folgenden eine Verbindung zwischen diesen Elementen gesucht. Das Ergebnis des geschilderten Prozesses wird anhand eines semantischen Netzes veranschaulicht, das zugleich das Resultat der Recherche darstellt. Koios++ berechnet im Regelfall mehrere Ergebnisse zu einer Anfrage, da die Analyse der eingegebenen Stichworte mehrere Möglichkeiten der Interpretation zulässt.

Ein grundsätzliches Problem bei der Informationssuche besteht darin, dass der Anwender die Ergebnisse eines entsprechenden Systems nicht hinreichend mit seiner Eingabe in Verbindung setzen kann. Dies ist besonders dann wahrscheinlich, wenn der Anwender sein Suchproblem nicht adäquat formulieren kann (z.B. mit Stichworten). Aus diesem Grund versucht Koios++ die Suchergebnisse mittels Erklärungen in Form von semantischen Netzen anzureichern und in eine Art Dialog mit dem Benutzer zu treten, sein Suchproblem zu lösen und bei der Aneignung neuen Wissens behilflich zu sein.

Koios++ versucht Erklärungen zu Suchergebnissen an den jeweiligen Benutzer anzupassen, in dem Information entweder hinzugefügt oder ausgeblendet werden. Hierbei kommen statistische und logische Verfahren zum Einsatz, die vor allem das Wissen des Benutzers im jeweiligen Wissensgebiet berücksichtigen. Zu diesem Zweck wurde eine Formel zur Bewertung der Verständlichkeit von semantischen Netzen entwickelt. In dieser Formel werden vor allem der Bekanntheitsgrad von Begriffen (Knoten des Netzes) und die Nachvollziehbarkeit von Begriffsverknüpfungen (Kanten des Netzes) betrachtet. Letzteres wurde anhand eines Experiments im letzten Jahr untersucht; die Publikation der Ergebnisse ist in Vorbereitung.

Suche nach psychologischer Literatur

Der generische Ansatz von Koios++ lässt sich unter anderem auch zur Suche nach Literatur in der Psychologie verwenden. In diesem Fall enthalten die SPARQL-Queries genau 1 Variable, deren Instanziierung einer speziellen Dokumentklasse zugeordnet werden kann (Artikel, Tagungsbeitrag etc.). Die Instanzen bzw. konkreten Dokumente sind mit Konzepten aus dem APA-Thesaurus annotiert, die in der Regel so speziell wie möglich gehalten sind. Angenommen, ein Anwender sucht nach Dokumenten, die mit den Begrifflichkeiten "Depression" und "Psychoanalyse" zu tun haben. Für den Fall, dass ein Dokument mit den Konzepten "Bipolare Störung" und "Psychoanalyse" annotiert ist, würde Koios++ dieses Dokument vorschlagen, selbst wenn das Wort "Depression" im Textkörper nicht vorkommt. Der Vorschlag ist nur deswegen möglich, da Koios++ aufgrund seines Hintergrundwissens inferieren kann, dass das Konzept "Bipolare Störung" in engem Zusammenhang zu "Depression" steht. Auf diese Art und Weise wird prinzipiell die Treffermenge erweitert, was grundsätzlich nicht von Vorteil ist. Aus diesem Grund liefert die Dokumentsuche von Koios++ vor allem dann verwertbare Resultate, wenn die Suchanfrage mehrere Konzepte beinhaltet.

Weitere semantische Suchmaschinen

Eine semantische Suchmaschine im medizinischen Kontext ist GoPubMed, während Wolfram Alpha als rechnende Wissensmaschine reüssiert.

Publikationen

2015

  • Forcher, B. (2015). Generierung verständlicher Erklärungen für Semantic Web Applikationen. Dissertation, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern. München: Verlag Dr. Hut.

2014

  • Forcher, B., Roth-Berghofer, T., Agne, S., & Dengel, A. (2014). Justifications of Medical Semantic Search Results. Intuitive Engineering Applications of Artificial Intelligence, 30, 1-17.
    doi:10.1016/j.engappai.2014.01.013

Tagungsbeiträge

2014

  • Forcher, B., Giloj, A., & Weichselgartner, E. (2014, Oktober).
    Keyword-Based Semantic Search Engine Koios++. 13th International Semantic Web Conference, Riva del Garda - Trentino, Italien.

URLs der Links auf dieser Seite



weiterführende Informationen

Weitere Informationen

PD Dr. Erich Weichselgartner
Telefon: +49 (0)651 201-2056
Leibniz-Zentrum für Psychologische Information und Dokumentation (ZPID)
Universitätsring 15,
54296 Trier

Interessiert an einer Demonstration von Koios++? Dann kontaktieren Sie doch bitte PD Dr. Erich Weichselgartner.

Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter

Kontakt und Funktionen

URL der Seite: https://www.zpid.de/index.php?wahl=forschung&uwahl=informationstechnologie&uuwahl=Koios