Navigation

Service-Menü

Hauptmenü



Bereichsmenü


HILK

Construction of the Health Information Literacy Knowledge Test HILK

Funding: Budgetary funds
Grant term: April 2015 -
Project Partners: --
Project Manager: Dr. Anne-Kathrin Mayer (ZPID)
Project Staff: BSc Julia Holzhäuser (-March 2016); Dipl.-Psych. Veronika Kuhberg

Description

Illustration Äpfel

The term health literacy denotes the ability to reach decisions in everyday life which have positive effects on individual health. One central aspect of health literacy is health information literacy, i.e. the ability to obtain reliable as well as »up-to-date« health information from multiple sources (e.g., physicians, scientific publications, web pages), and to evaluate and weigh this information adequately. Health information literacy forms an essential basis for well-founded decisions about individual health behaviors and interactions with the health system (e.g., acceptance of medical treatment).

Until now, health information literacy is usually assessed by self-reports or by achievement tests which cover basic literacies like reading and interpreting medical information (e.g., understanding prescription orders for the intake of a medicine). However, there are no tests assessing competencies regarding the goal-directed search and critical evaluation of health information.

Illustration Gesundheitsvorsorge

Therefore, a multiple choice test of health information literacy was devised. The test is based on general process models of information literacy and information problem solving as well as models of health literacy. It aims at assessing the level of declarative knowledge with reference to the search and evaluation of health information. In a pilot study including a sample of students, the measure was tested and validated. The final version is applied in additional studies with students and non-academic samples to work on specific research questions from the fields of "health literacy" and "health information literacy".

For example, a dissertation project analyzes health information literacy of vocational school students. The project aims at modelling the relations between health information literacy, health interest, personality variables, and health-related beliefs.

Publications

2017

  • Kuhberg-Lasson, V., & Mayer, A.-K. (in press). Demographic characteristics and personality variables as predictors of health information literacy in young adults. In S. Špiranec, S. Kurbanoğlu, J. Boustany, E. Grassian, D. Mizrachi, L. Roy, D. Kos (Eds.), Workplace Information Literacy. Fifth European Conference, ECIL 2017, Saint-Malo, France, September 18-21, 2017, revised selected papers.

  • Kuhberg-Lasson, V., & Mayer, A.-K. (in press). Determinants of health information literacy in vocational school students: The role of personal beliefs. In A.-K. Mayer (Ed.) Health literacy across the life span. Lengerich: Pabst Science Publishers.

  • Mayer, A.-K., & (in press). Subjective and objective measures of health information literacy: Do they provide complementary or redundant information? In S. Špiranec, S. Kurbanoğlu, J. Boustany, E. Grassian, D. Mizrachi, L. Roy, D. Kos (Eds.), Workplace Information Literacy. Fifth European Conference, ECIL 2017, Saint-Malo, France, September 18-21, 2017, revised selected papers.

Talks/Posters

2017

2016

2015

URLs of the links on this page:

  1. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Kuhberg_Determinants-of-health-information.pdf
  2. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Kuhberg-Lasson_ECIL.pdf
  3. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Mayer_Assessing-health-information.pdf
  4. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Mayer_Lugano.pdf
  5. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2016_SeniorenstudiumUniTrier-Mayer-Gesundheitskompetenzen.pdf
  6. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2016_Mayer-Holzhaeuser_Poster-Leipzig-GF.pdf
  7. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2015_Mayer-Holzhaeuser_bruessel.pdf


weiterführende Informationen

Additional Information

Dr. Anne-Kathrin Mayer
Phone: +49 (0)651 201-2930
Fax: +49 (0)651 201-2071
Leibniz Institute for Psychology Information
Universitätsring 15,
54296 Trier, Germany
Follow Us on Twitter

Kontakt und Funktionen

URL of this page: https://www.zpid.de/index.php?wahl=forschung&uwahl=project&uuwahl=HILK&lang=EN

Navigation

Service-Menü

Hauptmenü



Bereichsmenü


HILK

Konstruktion eines Wissenstests zur gesundheitsbezogenen Informationskompetenz
(Health Information Literacy Knowledge Test HILK)

Förderer: Haushaltsmittel
Laufzeit: April 2015 -
Projektpartner: --
Leitung: Dr. Anne-Kathrin Mayer (ZPID)
Mitarbeiterin: BSc Julia Holzhäuser (- März 2016); Dipl.-Psych. Veronika Kuhberg

Beschreibung

Illustration Äpfel

Der Begriff der Gesundheitskompetenz (health literacy) bezeichnet die Fähigkeit, im täglichen Leben Entscheidungen zu treffen, die sich positiv auf die Gesundheit auswirken. Zentraler Bestandteil der Gesundheitskompetenz sind gesundheitsbezogene Informationskompetenzen (health information literacy), d.h. Fähigkeiten, sich aktuelle und zuverlässige Informationen zum Thema »Gesundheit« aus unterschiedlichen Quellen (z.B. Ärzte, wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen, Internetseiten) zu beschaffen, diese korrekt zu bewerten und zu gewichten. Gesundheitsbezogene Informationskompetenz stellt eine wesentliche Grundlage fundierter Entscheidungen über das individuelle Gesundheitsverhalten und den Umgang mit dem Gesundheitssystem (z.B. Akzeptanz medizinischer Behandlungen) dar.

Entsprechende Kompetenzen werden bislang überwiegend mit Selbsteinschätzungsskalen erfragt. Existierende Leistungstests bilden lediglich grundlegende Fähigkeiten des Lesens und Interpretierens von medizinischen Informationen ab, z.B. das Verstehen von Einnahmevorschriften für Medikamente. Es fehlen hingegen Verfahren, welche Kompetenzen im Bereich der gezielten Suche nach und kritischen Bewertung von Informationen zu Gesundheitsfragen erfasst.

Illustration Gesundheitsvorsorge

Im Rahmen des Projekts wurde daher ein Multiple-Choice-Test zur Erfassung gesundheitsbezogener Informationskompetenzen konstruiert. Der Test basiert auf allgemeinen Prozessmodellen der Informationskompetenz und des informationsbezogenen Problemlösens sowie auf Modellen der Gesundheitskompetenz. Er soll das Niveau deklarativen Wissens abbilden, das sich auf die Beschaffung und Bewertung gesundheitsbezogener Informationen bezieht. Im Rahmen einer Pilotstudie an Studierenden wurde das Verfahren empirisch erprobt und vorläufig validiert. In der vorliegenden Endfassung wird das Instrument in weiteren studentischen, aber auch nicht-akademischen Stichproben zur Bearbeitung spezifischer Forschungsfragen aus den Themenfelder "Gesundheitskompetenzen" und "Gesundheitsbezogene Informationskompetenzen" genutzt.

Beispielsweise werden im Rahmen eines Dissertationsprojekts mittels des HILK gesundheitsbezogene Informationskompetenzen von BerufsschülerInnen untersucht. Das Ziel der Arbeit besteht in der Analyse und Modellierung von Wechselbeziehungen zwischen gesundheitsbezogenen Informationskompetenzen, Gesundheitsinteresse, Persönlichkeitsvariablen und gesundheitsbezogenen Überzeugungen.

Tagungsbeiträge

2017

2016

2015

URLs der Links auf dieser Seite

  1. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Kuhberg_Determinants-of-health-information.pdf
  2. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Mayer_Lugano.pdf
  3. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2017_Mayer_Assessing-health-information.pdf
  4. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2016_SeniorenstudiumUniTrier-Mayer-Gesundheitskompetenzen.pdf
  5. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2016_Mayer-Holzhaeuser_Poster-Leipzig-GF.pdf
  6. http://www.zpid.de/pub/research/2015_Mayer-Holzhaeuser_bruessel.pdf


weiterführende Informationen

Weitere Informationen

Dr. Anne-Kathrin Mayer
Telefon: +49 (0)651 201-2930
Fax: +49 (0)651 201-2071
Leibniz-Zentrum für Psychologische Information und Dokumentation (ZPID)
Universitätsring 15,
54296 Trier
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter

Kontakt und Funktionen

URL der Seite: https://www.zpid.de/index.php?wahl=forschung&uwahl=project&uuwahl=HILK